Severe bug

All announcements, questions and issues related to the Resource Builder
Post Reply
zenon
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Severe bug

Post by zenon »

Dear sir,
Since last update I'm experiencing a severe bug which slows down my development. It regards dialogs. To create a tabbed dialog, you need to have a basic dialog, with a tab-control. Then you need several child dialogs. So I need to set the child dialog to WS_CHILD style with WS_POPUP and WS_BORDER to false. Plus you need to set the WS_EX_NOPARENTNOTIFY and WS_EX_CONTROLPARENT flags. This works fine , but the WS_POPUP and WS_BORDER style are reset automatically. I have tried setting these flags through the gui as well as in the plain text editor but the dialogs I have set well yseterday, seem to be broken again today. This bug/problem gives me a serious setback in development.

Hope to have a solution soon.
Pascal.
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

Hello,

Could you please send us or post here the sample RC scripts that reproduces the problem?

P.S. Do you use 2.4.0.7 version?
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
zenon
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by zenon »

Yes I do use the 2.4.0.7 version.
I'll see if I can pinpoint the problem to narrow down the search. But what I can tell you now is the effect I saw: I opened a resource file, which I used before in previous sessions. I see on the left side the treeview with menu, dialogs etc... I select a dialog by double clicking the dialog. Now I can see the resource preview on the lower left corner and the dialog displayed in the middle. I can clearly see that the EXSTYLE contains the WS_EX flags previously mentioned. I can also see that the WS_POPUP flag and others are set (which is wrong). Now I change this by opening the properties on the right side and disable (put to false) the flags mentioned. The moment I go to file-save to keep the changes, I see the preview of the resource change the style as selected, but the EXSTYLE, gets the value 0. It seems to me that double clicking the dialog to select for editing, does not set this properly in the properties pane, thus faulty updating the resource afterwards. Just a guess, but who knows.

Pascal
zenon
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

an example...

Post by zenon »

200 DIALOGEX 1, 1, 413, 270, 0
EXSTYLE WS_EX_CONTROLPARENT |WS_EX_NOPARENTNOTIFY
STYLE DS_SETFONT |WS_POPUP |WS_VISIBLE |WS_SYSMENU |WS_BORDER |0x40000000
FONT 8, "MS Sans Serif", 400, 0, 1
LANGUAGE LANG_NEUTRAL, 0
BEGIN
CONTROL "Relatie",202,"BUTTON",BS_GROUPBOX |WS_CHILD |WS_VISIBLE ,7,49,154,155,0x0,0
CONTROL "Fijn goud saldo",201,"BUTTON",BS_GROUPBOX |WS_CHILD |WS_VISIBLE ,15,153,136,44,0x0,0
CONTROL "Inhoud",200,"BUTTON",BS_GROUPBOX |WS_CHILD |WS_VISIBLE ,169,49,239,156,0x0,0
CONTROL "",203,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,51,6,61,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",204,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,51,20,61,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",208,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,51,34,61,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",205,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,37,66,53,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",230,"COMBOBOX",CBS_DROPDOWN |CBS_SORT |WS_CHILD |WS_VSCROLL |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,233,134,74,84,0x0,0
CONTROL "",234,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,233,150,74,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",238,"COMBOBOX",CBS_DROPDOWN |WS_CHILD |WS_VSCROLL |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,309,6,100,40,0x0,0
CONTROL "",244,"COMBOBOX",CBS_DROPDOWN |WS_CHILD |WS_VSCROLL |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,309,23,100,40,0x0,0
CONTROL "",207,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,312,213,71,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",206,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,312,227,71,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",241,"EDIT",ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,312,251,71,14,0x0,0
CONTROL "",209,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,25,167,52,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",210,"EDIT",ES_AUTOHSCROLL |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,25,181,52,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",228,"EDIT",ES_MULTILINE |ES_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_VSCROLL |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,61,209,194,58,0x0,0
CONTROL "PakNr:",211,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,6,7,25,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "Datum:",212,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,6,21,25,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "Voorschot:",213,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,268,227,35,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "[EEE]",214,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,386,229,22,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "Kostprijs:",215,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,268,213,34,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "[EEE]",216,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,386,213,24,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "ID:",217,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,15,66,14,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "Zoeken...",218,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,103,62,50,14,0x0,0
CONTROL "",219,"STATIC",SS_SUNKEN |SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,15,103,138,47,0x0,0
CONTROL "...",220,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,117,20,12,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "Leverdatum:",222,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,6,35,42,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "...",223,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,117,35,12,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "gr. Fijn goud",224,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,81,168,48,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "gr. 18kt goud",225,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,81,181,43,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "Aanmaken...",226,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,103,80,50,14,0x0,0
CONTROL "Opmerkingen:",227,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,9,212,49,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "",229,"SysListView32",LVS_REPORT |LVS_SHAREIMAGELISTS |LVS_EDITLABELS |LVS_ALIGNTOP |WS_CHILD |WS_BORDER |WS_VISIBLE ,181,68,219,56,0x0,0
CONTROL "Toevoegen",231,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,322,130,79,14,0x0,0
CONTROL "Verwijderen",232,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,322,148,79,14,0x0,0
CONTROL "Samenstelling",233,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,322,166,79,14,0x0,0
CONTROL "Type:",235,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,203,135,25,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "Omschrijving:",236,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,183,151,44,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "Opgemaakt door:",237,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,245,9,57,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "Picture0",239,"STATIC",SS_BLACKRECT |WS_CHILD |WS_VISIBLE ,265,243,140,2,0x0,0
CONTROL "Saldo:",240,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,268,253,25,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "[EEE]",242,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,386,255,22,12,0x0,0
CONTROL "Globale status:",243,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,245,25,48,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "Type:",245,"STATIC",SS_LEFT |WS_CHILD |WS_GROUP |WS_VISIBLE ,15,83,17,8,0x0,0
CONTROL "",246,"COMBOBOX",CBS_DROPDOWN |WS_CHILD |WS_VSCROLL |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,37,81,53,36,0x0,0
CONTROL "Geleverd door klant...",247,"BUTTON",BS_PUSHBUTTON |BS_VCENTER |BS_CENTER |WS_CHILD |WS_TABSTOP |WS_VISIBLE ,322,184,79,14,0x0,0
END


For some reason, he seems to reset dialogs like this one from WS_CHILD to WS_POPUP, making them appear outside the tabbed dialog. Am I doing something wrong here ?
zenon
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

some more information

Post by zenon »

OK, I've done the following. I edited the rc file with ultraedit, saved it and loaded it into resource builder. I looked to the edited dialog and the WS_CHILD was changed into WS_POPUP, so the problem lies in reading the rc-file. This practically means I have to edit - in one big session - all dialogs, just to be sure the screens will display right in my app. So for the moment, resource builder is useless to me. And I dare not go back to a previous version.

Hope you can fix this really fast.

Pascal.
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

At http://www.sicomponents.com/soft/resbuild2408.zip is placed preview of 2.4.0.8 files with this fix. Could you please confrim that it works for you? Thank you.

P.S. Just unzip the files to run.
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
zenon
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

WS_CHILD

Post by zenon »

Yes, this seems to fix the problem. As soon as I open an rc-file, the preview shows it as should, saving the resource does not alter these flags.

Thanks,
Pascal.
Post Reply