SiComponents Home Page SiComponents Forums
Here you will be able to get help and share your experience
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Translate Language does not always show correct base langs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SiComponents Forums Forum Index -> TsiLang Components Suite
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Malcolm



Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:35 pm    Post subject: Translate Language does not always show correct base langs Reply with quote

Hi Igor

In SIL Editor V 6.0.1.52 I am trying to translate from the Dictionary just the selected language.

Sometimes it correctly offers as the base language all the languages except the selected language. But other times it includes the selected language in the base list but not the base language I want (usually the first language).

I have not managed to work out exactly how to make it work/fail. Sad

It does seem that clicking in a cell does not always 'correctly' update the base language list.

If possible it would also be nice to be able to translate a particular language for the whole SIB file in a single command (or did I miss it?)

Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malcolm



Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, here is what I am doing:

1. Double-click on a .sib file. The SIL Editor opens the file.
2. Expand the tree, select the first <unit> and then the Captions node
3. Scroll to language 13 (Chinese) and click on a cell
4. Select Dictionary, then Translate language
5. The base language dialog opens and I select the first language (English) ... and the Chinese column is translated from the Dictionary. (All as expected)

6. Next I select the Strings node and scroll to Chinese and click on a cell
7. Select Translate language.
8. The base language dialog opens, but I cannot select English as it is no longer in the list - but Chinese *is*.

The only way to be sure to get English back in the list of base languages is to restart the SIL Editor. Sad

It looks as if the 'selected' language is not being respected by the base language dialog .. or the selected language is not being updated.

Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isiticov
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 2103

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for details. We will try to reproduce and fix this shortly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malcolm



Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This seems to be fixed in V 6.0.1.57 (and maybe before) Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SiComponents Forums Forum Index -> TsiLang Components Suite All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by p h p B B  © 2001, 2005 p h p B B  Group