How to skip the translation for a certain properties during?

All announcements, questions and issues related to the TsiLang Components Suite.
Post Reply
siatc
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:03 pm

How to skip the translation for a certain properties during?

Post by siatc »

Hi,

My project includes a TwwGrid from Infopower. I have previously use TsiLang to scan my project and the grid Selected property was saved into the sib file.
The sib file has been distributed to the customer.

Recently I make some changes to the grid's column and this affect the Selected property. However, the sib also contains the old value of that property. This affect column display.

Other than going into the sib file and delete that entry, is there any way to skip that property during runtime using code?

Thanks.

Sia
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

You can just add it to SmartExcludedProps property, like:

Code: Select all

siLang1.SmartExcludedProps.Add(wwGrid1.Selected);
Please let me know if this helps.
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
siatc
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:03 pm

Post by siatc »

Unfortunately it doesn't. I tried adding it in either OnFormCreate event or manually in the SmartExcludeProps. It still pick up from the old setting in the sib file.

btw, I'm using TsiLangLinked in the forms.
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

Could you please try to reproduce the problem on sample project and send it to us among with SIB file?
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
siatc
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:03 pm

Post by siatc »

I have send an email with an attached test project to support@sicomponents.com.

In the test project I uses TButton instead, and the result are the same.

Would it be possible for TsiLang to skip replacing the original language unless it is explicitly changed in the sib file manually. Otherwise this will create a problem when the software is still under development.
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

Sorry, my fault, the code to use must be like:

Code: Select all

  siLang.SmartExcludeProps.Add('Button1.Caption');
  siLang.BuildList;
Please take a note about BuildList call and quotes.
Please let me know if this helps.
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
siatc
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:03 pm

Post by siatc »

Nope, it doesn't work either
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

I've sent you your modified sample. Please check it.
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
siatc
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:03 pm

Post by siatc »

From your sample, it seems that TsiLang is not able to handle the above situation.

Will TsiLang add this in their future release? It is not practical to always amend the sib files whenever there is a change in the caption/multilines in the source code.

If this is not possible then I will have to look for alternative solution.

Thanks.
isiticov
Site Admin
Posts: 2383
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 pm

Post by isiticov »

Actually, when you changed your desing (added or deleted some compoenents and properties) you can just re-create SIB file and merge old one using SIL Editor without merging "superfluous entries" (there is options for this in SIL Editor merge wizard). So you will easily have up-to-date SIB file and re-use translations from older SIB(s).
Hope this helps.
Best regards,
Igor Siticov.
Post Reply