SiComponents Home Page SiComponents Forums
Here you will be able to get help and share your experience
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Non-western languagues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SiComponents Forums Forum Index -> TsiLang Components Suite
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
James Campion



Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:10 pm    Post subject: Non-western languagues Reply with quote

Hi,
Same problem as Plutoplanet ( Greek characters) only mine is with Russian ( the german version is great)
The Character set is set to Russian and font to Arial for all components.

Reading through the thread I come to the conclusion that TButton simply does not work with non-western languages.

Do I have to replace Tbuttons with Tbitbutton throughout my project?
I cannot get the StaticText components to display the correct characters, do these have to be replaced with Tlabels?

Is there any documentation as to which controls should be avoided in these situations.

Finally I tried the solution to Tmenu with no luck
Placed in FormCreate procedure.

Screen->MenuFont->Name="Arial";
Screen->MenuFont->Charset=RUSSIAN_CHARSET;


Can anyone shed any light on these problems?
Regards
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isiticov
Site Admin


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 2097

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the only solution (if you need to display Russian character under western locale) is to replace TButton with TBitBtn, TStaticText with TLabel and so on. But! in case you're intended to display Russian captions on customer's PC with Russian locale then all these will work properly. (You can send us sample EXE and we will show you the screenshots. Since we are under Russian locale Smile)
Menu problem: it looks like you don't use images in your menu, right?
In order the trick with menu worked just assign its Images property to some dummy empty TImageList and it will start to work.
Please let us know if this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
James Campion



Joined: 27 Jan 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2005 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tips, menue also works now.
Yes it the program will be run under russian locales to I'll trust you that score as well, you've been right om everything else thus far.
regards
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SiComponents Forums Forum Index -> TsiLang Components Suite All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by p h p B B  © 2001, 2005 p h p B B  Group